top of page
Search

Research Trips: Artist in Nature

My practice is consistently featuring and inspired by nature. So, at the start of this academic year, I made a conscious effort to visit multiple locations, go on long walks and document them, so that I could refer to them later on in the year when I perhaps don't have as much time to do so.


I wanted to share some of the photos I've collected in my first few weeks of research this year. The following are some of my favourite locations around Sheffield (mostly) and I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.


Wyming Brook


Wyming Brook, we visited in August, still in the middle of summer, and the place looked like a fairytale. The reserve is just a 15 minute drive from Broomhill, there are so many different routes to take we could have spent hours there. Wyming Brook has an amazing variation of both waterfalls and streams to walk along, as well as rockier paths with amazing views of the Rivelin reservoirs and the city. I would recommend it for anyone wanting to quickly escape the city for a walk.


Botanical Gardens


Sheffield Botanical Gardens, just off Eccy Road, this is my go to place for inspiration. Being so close to the city centre this place is a nature lovers haven. There is so much variety even when the indoor is closed, the park offers so many places to sit and enjoy the plants. I love visiting the gardens in different seasons its always offering something new that captures my attention, these photos are actually taken from 2 different trips to the park, I can't get enough of it.


Stanage Edge


Stanage Edge, well known to lots of climbers, it's a great spot for some amazing views of the Dark Peak moorlands and the Hope Valley. The 'Edge' itself stretches about 4 miles, so you can walk for as long as you like really. When we visited, in early October, the muted palette of the landscape was really pretty. It's a super popular spot especially at the weekends so if you are visiting bare that in mind, but there are plenty of places to park nearby.


Beacon Fell


This one isn't in Sheffield, but instead it is Beacon Fell, in Goosnargh Lancashire. the country park has lots of well-maintained footpaths through largely coniferous woodland, it even features a sculpture trail carved by local artist Thompson Dagnall. I visited in early October and I was particularly drawn to the sites of what looked like intervention; either fallen trees or tree markings or the teepee looking collection of twigs and logs.


Lady Bower Reservoir

Lady Bower Reservoir, the last of 3 reservoirs in the Upper Derwent Valley. It is surrounded by stunning countryside with incredible views of water, woodland and moorland. There are many circular walks nearby and some amazing viewpoints. We took a route north east of the gate towards Derwent and the views were so pretty with some really fascinating points along the way; tiny waterfalls, streams and lots of mushrooms!


That's most of the big walks I did at the start of the year. I've since used these photos to draw from, to collage into photoshop compositions and even feature in my latest piece. I hope you feel inspired to visit them, and let me know if you do!




All photos are my own.

Recent Posts

See All
  • Pinterest
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page